School of Economics

In 1923, Nankai University established its economics disciplines. The year 1931 was witness to the establishment of the School of Economics Nankai University (SENKU). After the 1978 reform and opening-up, the SENKU was rebuilt, which began providing a postgraduate program in 1935, over 60 students gained admission to the program until 1950. Of those students, most became prestigious scholars and highly trained executives.

The faculty’s classroom building, experimental center and administration building cover a total area of 20,000 square meters. The economics branch library has a collection of 200,000 volumes of books, including both domestic and foreign language ones. The virtual simulation experiment teaching center of SENKU had selected to be the first batch of national virtual simulation experiment teaching center in 2014. The “Collaborative Innovation Center for China Economy”, in which the faculty works as the core of cooperative units, had been successfully approved in 2014.

As of October 2014, the SENKU has 247 faculty members, including 67 professors, 94 associate professors, and 37 lecturers. 90% of them have a doctoral degree. Among faculty members, there are members of Office of the State Council Academic Degrees Committee, winners of outstanding contribution rewards, The Enterprising School Of Economics Nankai University members of central Marxism theory research center, members of construction engineering council committee, Convening Chairman of the Congress Economics Discipline Evaluation Committee, secretary-general, chairman of the Economics Discipline Advisory Committee Ministry of Education, National Philosophy and Social Science Planning Project Evaluation Commission, Cheung Kong Scholars Chair Professor, members of Social Science Committee Ministry of Education, winners of Cross Century Excellent Talents Training Program Fund Ministry of Education, winners of Supported by Program for New Century Excellent Talents in University, winners of Excellent Youth Scholars Fund Ministry of Education.

Currently the SENKU offers a full range of majors and is authorized to confer diplomas of bachelor’s, master's, and doctoral degrees. Now, theoretical economics and applied economics are the 2 national key disciplines, including political economics, world economics, history of economics, finance, regional economics, and international trade.

The SENKU accords carries on the tradition of “patriotism, dedication, innovation and teamwork”. Employing a coherent strategy that invigorates Nankai University through cultivating the faculty from a global perspective and that ensures quality education and social research innovation, cooperating with the “Collaborative Innovation Center for China Economy”, the SENKU aims to provide highly trained people for the development of Tianjin Binhai New Area and the region. It is another objective that the faculty’s pioneering research outputs continue to be a leading source of innovative thinking for social research, government and business and the theory of socialist economic Chinese characteristic theory platform in China.

Nankai University

No.38 Tongyan Road, Jinnan District, Tianjin , P.R. China 300350

No.94 Weijin Road,  Nankai District, Tianjin, P.R.China  300071