President of Nankai Xuetao Cao Elected as International Honorary Member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences 2018.04.19

April 18th, American Academy of Arts and Sciences announced the new members of class of 2018. Altogether 177 fellows and 36 foreign fellows were elected in 25 categories. Member of Chinese Academy of Engineering and President of Nankai University was elected as the international honorary member of American Academy. Another elected member of China is Xingpei Yuan, Professor of Department of Chinese Language and Literature, Peking University.

Prof. Xuetao Cao was born in July 1964. He graduated from the Second Military Medical University in 1986, and obtained doctoral degree at the same university in 1990. He became professor of Department of Immunology of the Second Military Medical University in 1992. He served as Vice President of the Second Military Medical University in 2004. He was elected as member of Chinese Academy of Engineering at the age of 41 years old in 2005. He assumed President of Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences in 2011, President of Peking Union Medical College in 2015, and President of Nankai University in 2017. He was successively elected as international member of Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften, international fellow of Academy of Medical Sciences, international member of the Académie Nationale de Médecine, and international honorary member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Prof. Xuetao Cao has been engaged in the fundamental research of anti-infection innate immunity and inflammation, and application research of the transformation of tumor immunotherapy. He has published more than 240 original papers as corresponding author in prestigious peer-reviewed journals of Science Citation Index (SCI) such as Cell, Nature, Science, and Nature Immunology. The dendriticcell vaccines have been used in advanced tumor patients, which have completed the phase II clinical trial, and have been approved by China Food and Drug Administration to conduct the phase III clinical trial. He has received the Yangtze Scholar Achievement Award of the Ministry of Education in 2005, Chinese Academy of Engineering Guanghua Innovation Award in 2012, TAN KAK KEE Science Award (Chinese Academy of Science) in 2016, China Young Scientist Award and the Top Ten Outstanding Young Persons in China. His 12 doctoral students won the honor of National Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation, winning him Special Award in the First Chinese Postgraduate Education in 2014 and Nature Awards for Mentoring in Science in 2015. He has been Professor and Founder Director of the National Key Laboratory of Medical Immunology since 2006, which received the cup of National Top 10 Innovation Teams. He has served as the Councilor and the Secretary General of Chinese Society for Immunology for 12 years, President of Federation of Immunological Societies in Asia and Oceania (FIMSA), President of Global Alliance for Chronic Diseases (GACD).

The Academy was established by the Massachusetts legislature on May 4th, 1780. It is one of the oldest learned societies and research centers in the United States of America. The first class of new members, chosen by the Academy in 1781, included Benjamin Franklin and George Washington as well as several foreign honorary members. The Academy’s membership of 4,900 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members includes many of the most accomplished scholars and practitioners worldwide on Science, Technology, Humanities, Education, Social Policy, Arts, etc. Among them, there are 250 Nobel Prize winners and more than 60 recipients of the Pulitzer Prizes.

In recent years, there have been a number of Chinese outstanding scholars becoming the international honorary members of the Academy, including Prof. Zhu Chen, Chunli Bai, Gang Tian, Yigong Shi, etc.

Reported by Junhui Wu

Translated by Ruoyan Yan

Nankai University

No.38 Tongyan Road, Jinnan District, Tianjin , P.R. China 300350

No.94 Weijin Road,  Nankai District, Tianjin, P.R.China  300071