70 Graduates from Nankai University- University of Glasgow Joint Graduate School Awarded Double Master’s Degrees 2019.06.28

On June 26th, Nankai University- University of Glasgow Joint Graduate School, a cooperative education institute, authorized by the Ministry of Education under the support of both Chinese and British governments, celebrated its 2019 Graduation and Master Degree Award Ceremony on Jinnan campus of Nankai University. 70 students from the joint graduate school were awarded double master’s degrees from both Nankai University and the University of Glasgow. This year, the two universities also signed a cooperation agreement, dedicating to joint education programs for double doctorates. It is also the first British postgraduate education institute established in China to be named as a joint graduate school.

On the morning of the same day, the 2019 Graduation and Master Award Ceremony of the Joint Graduate School was held at Datong Student Center of Jinan Campus of Nankai University. The graduation ceremony was attended by the First Executive Vice President of the University of Glasgow, Neil Just, President of Nankai University, Cao Xuetao; Vice President of the University of Glasgow, Anne Anderson, Vice Chancellor of the Nankai University, Wang Lei and Vice President of Nankai University, Li Jing.


Authorized by the Ministry of Education in November 2014, Nankai University-University of Glasgow Joint Graduate School is a good attempt to cultivate high-level talents in Sino-foreign cooperative education. The school began to enroll students and implement postgraduate education in 2015. Currently, it accommodates 4 majors including international relations, regional economics, environmental management and economics and English language and literature. In 2018, the two universities recruited the first batch of international students worldwide. In March of this year, after signing an agreement for joint education of students with dual doctorates, the two universities have completed student enrollment, in which students can obtain double doctorates awarded by two universities.

Founded in 1451, the University of Glasgow is one of the four most ancient universities in the UK, and one of the ten oldest universities in the world. It is one of the members of the prestigious Russell Group, a self-selected association of twenty-four public research universities in the United Kingdom. The University of Glasgow’s alumni include the renowned Father of Economics and author of the Wealth of Nations Adam Smith, the famous physicist and the first proposer of the concept of thermometric scale in thermodynamics William Thomson 1st Baron Kelvin, the world-renowned engineer and the ameliorator of the steam engine James Watt, the founder of Classical Electrodynamics James Clerk Maxwell, and many others.

Source: Nankai News

Written by Wu Junhui and Lan Fang

Photographed by Wu Junhui and Nie Jici

Edited by Nankai Translation Center and Yan Ruoyan

Nankai University

No.38 Tongyan Road, Jinnan District, Tianjin , P.R. China 300350

No.94 Weijin Road,  Nankai District, Tianjin, P.R.China  300071